How To Survive Your First Year of Blogging + Plans For This Year

tumblr_static_tumblr_static_flowers-9545 3333sfToday marks my first year of blogging.It’s pretty hard to believe that I’ve been blogging for one whole year and I have to admit that when I started out, I wasn’t sure if people would want to read what I posted or if my blog was going to be popular at all.I wasn’t sure if I would have anything to post about or if what I posted would be relevant to you guys.

During the past year, I’ve had the amazing opportunity to work with many amazing bloggers and companies, from all over the world.I have made so many friends from places that I didn’t know existed.I am extremely grateful to you, my viewers, for your support in my first year of blogging.I hope that you stick around and keep doing what you’re doing, because I truly appreciate it.

I know that everyone’s blogging journey won’t be the same, some people might get 30,000 views in their first year, whilst others may only get a few hundred.Today, in honor of this awesome occasion, I will be telling you guys, how to survive your first year of blogging.

1. First things first, you need to know what you are going to focus your blog on and spend most of your blogging time on researching or writing about that specific topic.Don’t get me wrong here, you can definitely post about different topics every now and again, even I do it sometimes too.What you don’t want is for people to be confused as to what exactly you post about.(You wouldn’t want to go to a sports blog for fashion advise.)Even though there are crossovers, you really shouldn’t over do it.

2.If you can’t think of anything to post, relax, we all have those days.We all have that moment when we are ready to write an awesome post, but it seems like there’s nothing to blog about.Don’t worry, I can assure you that about 95% of bloggers have this problem.So, if this ever happens to you again, just relax, take a break, go for a dip in the pool, grab some coffee, because something will come to you eventually.

3.Expectations vs Reality.We all have those moments when you sit down and just daydream about having the perfect blog and millions of viewers and followers, but this is not always what happens in real life.When you’re just staring out you need to have perseverance, I can tell from experience, in my first month, there were so many days, when I had only 1 or 2 views and I felt like quitting, but you need to know that it will get better.

4.Celebrate your accomplishments! When you reach a thousand views, celebrate, when reach 10,000 followers, celebrate and when you’ve been blogging for a whole year celebrate (like I’m doing right now!)Let your viewers know how well you’re doing and thank them for helping you get where you are now.

5.When all else fails, just be yourself.The most important thing to do is just be yourself.What you post about must be something that you love and something that you’re passionate about.If you don’t love what you’re writing about, how are you going to enjoy blogging. Your blog should attract people just like you, so that you can connect with your viewers.And at the end of the day, if you find that blogging isn’t for you, after reading this and taking my advice, don’t be afraid to quite. Remember, there is no shame in accepting that blogging isn’t your forte.It was just not meant for everyone, and that is completely fine.


As for this upcoming year, I am currently working on a number of projects with Dailylook.com, Invaluable.com and Wework.com.I am also planning to expand the Style Oasis family, by adding Gamer Oasis, Fashion Oasis and much, much more as subdivisions of Style Oasis.Also, stay tuned for the Style Oasis relaunch, where I will be sure to post as often as I can, you can find it all here on one blog.

I must inform you guys that it’s my last year of High School and I will be extremely busy with homework and studying for Finals, so I will not be able to post as often as I would like to, but I will try to talk to you guys whenever I can.

XoXo
-Jonbonae

One comment

  1. I would just like to extend another HUGE thank you to everyone who has helped me along the way. I know I’ve said it a million times, but your effort and support has not gone unnoticed.Every single one of you has a special place in my heart ❤ and you are all very beautiful people.
    XoXo
    -Jonbonae

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

